2018 Australian Open Order of Play, Live Stream: Day 1

Novak Djokovic of Serbia: Wimbledon 2017

MELBOURNE, Australia — The 2018 Australian Open starts on January 15 (Sunday, Jan. 14 U.S. time) and here is the Order of Play and live TV Channels and streams for the men’s and women’s singles on Day 1 at Melbourne Park. The tournament will run through Jan. 28.

Jan. 14: First round, 7 p.m. ET ESPN2 | Live Stream on ESPN3 Schedule and WatchESPN Also watch The 2018 Australian Open Live – Unlimited Live TV Streaming On Sling TV

A number of big names in both the men’s and women’s singles will be missing or entered the tournament less than 100 percent fit.

Among those skipping the first of the four Grand Slam events of the year are Serena Williams and Victoria Azarenka on the women’s side, while Andy Murray will also not be in attendance.

Meanwhile, Novak Djokovic is battling an injury, but has decided to take part.

The six-time Melbourne champion, who opens against American Donald Young on Tuesday/Monday, is nursing an elbow problem, but reveals the injury is getting better each day.

Among the highlighted player on the schedule for Day 1 is Rafael Nadal, the No. 1 seed on the men’s side who will take on Victor Estrella Burgos of the Dominican Republic in the first round on Rod Laver Arena.

On the women’s side, Denmark’s second-seeded Caroline Wozniacki will take on Mihaela Buzarnescu of Romania in the first round, while USA veteran fifth-seed Venus Williams will face Switzerland’s Belinda Bencic.

French Open champion Jelena Ostapenko of Latvia, the No. 7 seed will feature in the Rod Laver Arena first when she faces Italian Francesca Schiavone.

US Open champion Sloane Stephens of American will battle China’s Shuai Zhang in her first-round game.

Home favorite, No. 17 Nick Kyrgios will battle with Brazil’s Rogerio Dutra-Silva in last game in the Hisense Arena.


Sunday, Jan. 14. Times (ET)

ROD LAVER ARENA – play starts at 7:00 pm ET

(7) Jelena Ostapenko (LAT) v Francesca Schiavone (ITA)
(5) Venus Williams (USA) v Belinda Bencic (SUI)
(3) Grigor Dimitrov (BUL) v Qualifier

Night session (play starts at 3:00 am ET)

(1) Rafael Nadal (ESP) v Victor Estrella Burgos (DOM)
(23) Daria Gavrilova (AUS) v Qualifier

MARGARET COURT ARENA – play starts at 7:00 pm ET

(13) Sloane Stephens (USA) v Shuai Zhang (CHN)
Matthew Ebden (AUS) v (16) Jon Isner (USA)
Samantha Stosur (AUS) v Monica Puig (PRI)

Night session (play starts at 3:00 am ET)

Mihaela Buzarnescu (ROU) v (2) Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
Qualifier v (15) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)

HISENSE ARENA – play starts at 7:00 pm ET

Sofia Kenin (USA) v (12) Julia Goerges (DEU)
Timea Babos (HUN) v (10) CoCo Vandeweghe (USA)
Yen Hsun Lu (TPE) v Marin Cilic (CRO x6)
(17) Nick Kyrgios (AUS) v Rogerio Dutra-Silva (BRA)

SHOW COURT 2 – play starts at 7:00 pm ET

Taylor Townsend (USA) v (19) Magdalena Rybarikova (SVK)
(24) Dominika Cibulkova (SVK) v Kaia Kanepi (EST)
Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE) v Denis Shapovalov (CAN)
Yuichi Sugita (JPN) v (8) Jack Sock (USA)

SHOW COURT 3 – play starts at 7:00 pm ET

(11) Kevin Anderson (RSA) v Kyle Edmund (GBR)
Jaimee Fourlis (AUS) v Olivia Rogowska (AUS)
John Millman (AUS) v Borna Coric (CRO)
Qualifier v Elina Svitolona (UKR)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.