Faulkner University Baseball

2018 Baseball National Championship Opening Round Qualifiers

KANSAS CITY — The following are the 2018 NAIA Baseball National Championship opening round field, which was announced by the national office this week.

The NAIA officially announced a 45-team field and pairings for the opening games that are set to take place between May 14–17 at nine host sites.

Each of the nine host sites will feature five-teams with a double-elimination tournament format with the nine opening round winners joining Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) at the 62nd annual Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series in Lewiston, Idaho, May 25 – June 1.

Three teams are set to make its first-ever appearance at the NAIA Baseball national championship, while LSU Shreveport and Tennessee Wesleyan will be making the tournament for a 10th-straight season.

LSU Shreveport (La.) and Tennessee Wesleyan are the only two NAIA teams to have participated in every event since the format was established in 2009.

The three teams making the opening round for the first time in this year’s field are Mobile (Ala.), Reinhardt (Ga.) and William Jessup (Calif.).

NOTE** Prior to the start of the opening round format, Mobile reached the World Series in 2001.

Among the notable returners from last season are Faulkner (Ala.), Oklahoma Wesleyan, Keiser (Fla.), Oklahoma City, Science & Arts (Okla.) and William Carey (Miss.) – who all won opening round titles last term.

2018 Baseball National Championship Opening Round Qualifiers

School Qualification Record^ Appearances% Record Titles
Antelope Valley (Calif.) NAIA West Group California Pacific Conference Regular-Season Champion 41-11-1 2nd 1-2 0
Bellevue (Neb.) North Star Athletic Association Tournament Champion 37-21 9th 14-15 1
British Columbia NAIA West Group Tournament Runner-up 28-24 7th 9-12 0
Bryan (Tenn.) At-Large 40-15 4th 5-6 0
Campbellsville (Ky.) Mid-South Conference Tournament Champion 36-15 8th 14-13 1
Central Methodist (Mo.) Heart of America Athletic Conference Tournament Runner-Up 40-14 4th 1-6 0
Clarke (Iowa) Heart of America Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 35-21-1 3rd 2-4 0
Cumberland (Tenn.) At-Large 34-19 6th 13-7 2
Cumberlands (Ky.) At-Large 46-9 2nd 1-2 0
Faulkner (Ala.) At-Large 50-7 9th 19-7 5
Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) American Midwest Conference Tournament Champion 40-14 4th 3-6 0
Georgia Gwinnett Association of Independent Institutions Tournament Runner-Up 45-10 5th 11-7 1
Indiana Tech Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Regular-Season Champion 42-19 8th 12-14 0
Indiana Wesleyan Crossroads League Regular-Season Champion 37-18 2nd 1-2 0
IU Southeast (Ind.) River States Conference Regular-Season Champion 40-12 5th 5-8 0
Jamestown (N.D.) At-Large 41-9 7th 6-12 0
Judson (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Regular-Season Champion 35-18 6th 3-10 0
Keiser (Fla.) At-Large 37-17 3rd 4-3 1
Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) World Series Host 38-11 n/a n/a n/a
LSU Alexandria (La.) Red River Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 32-25 4th 2-6 0
LSU Shreveport (La.) Red River Athletic Conference Regular-Season Champion 39-20 10th 15-14 2
Lyon (Ark.) American Midwest Conference Regular-Season Champion 36-15 4th 4-6 0
Madonna (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 36-16 6th 4-10 0
Marian (Ind.) Crossroads League Tournament Champion 24-25 2nd 1-2 0
Middle Georgia State Southern States Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 45-16 3rd 3-4 0
Midland (Neb.) Great Plains Athletic Conference Tournament Runner-Up 32-20 5th 3-8 0
Mobile (Ala.) At-Large 42-15 1st 0-0 0
Northwestern (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Conference Regular-Season Champion 30-18 4th 4-6 0
Oklahoma City Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament Runner-Up 47-7 9th 21-7 5
Oklahoma Wesleyan Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Regular-Season Champion 51-6 4th 9-3 2
Point (Ga.) Appalachian Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 34-23 3rd 5-3 1
Point Park (Pa.) River States Conference Tournament Champion 45-7 4th 3-4 1
Reinhardt (Ga.) At-Large 38-17 1st 0-0 0
Science & Arts (Okla.) Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 45-6 4th 7-2 1
Southeastern (Fla.) At-Large 51-7 4th 4-6 0
St. Thomas (Fla.) At-Large 53-7 7th 12-11 1
Talladega (Ala.) Association of Independent Institutions Tournament Champion 27-22 3rd 0-4 0
Taylor (Ind.) At-Large 43-14 6th 4-10 0
Tennessee Wesleyan Appalachian Athletic Conference Tournament Runner-Up 37-19 10th 23-13 3
Trinity Christian (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 34-21 2nd 0-2 0
University of Northwestern Ohio At-Large 38-18 3rd 4-4 0
Webber International (Fla.) The Sun Conference Tournament Champion 35-22 2nd 1-2 0
Westmont (Calif.) At-Large 34-16 4th 4-6 0
William Carey (Miss.) At-Large 33-23 6th 12-9 1
William Jessup (Calif.) Golden State Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 38-15 1st 0-0 0
York (Neb.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Runner-Up 26-26 6th 6-8 1

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.