TUCSON – The University of Arizona Wildcat men’s and No. 1 women’s cross country teams will compete in the Pac-12 Championships in Boulder, Colo. The meet will take place on Saturday, Nov. 2 at Coal Creek Golf Course.

The men’s 8K will be starting at 10:40 a.m. MDT and the women’s 6,000-meter race is set to start at 11:40 a.m. The women’s team head into the race ranked No. 1 in the country for the first time in program history.

They will look to claim the first conference championship in program history as well. In 2012, the Wildcats took second place on the women’s side. On the men’s side, they finished in seventh place in 2012.

Arizona will compete against Arizona State, California, Colorado, Oregon, Oregon State (women only), Stanford, UCLA, USC (women only), Utah (women only), Washington and Washington State.

In the latest USTFCCCA national poll, the Arizona women moved up to No. 1 the country. Five other Pac-12 schools join Arizona in the national poll. Oregon fell six spots to No. 12, Washington dropped nine spots to No. 13, Colorado slid four spots and sits at No. 16, Stanford fell nine spots to No. 20 and Arizona State jumped to No. 26 after being unranked previously. In the USTFCCCA West Region, the UA women are ranked No. 1 as well.

On the men’s side, the Pac-12 has four schools in the national poll. Colorado jumped one spot to No. 1 in the country. Oregon remained fourth in the country. Stanford jumped 16 spots to 13th. Washington climbed to No. 25 after not being in the week four poll. The Arizona men’s cross country team is No. 10 in the USTFCCCA West Region.

Junior Lawi Lalang is entered in the race but he is not expected to compete, as head coach James .i plans to shut him down for the duration of the cross country season so he can prepare for the indoor track season in January.

Lalang won the last two Pac-12 Championships. Lalang claimed the 2011 NCAA Championship and in 2012 he earned a third-place finish at the NCAA Championships. Freshman Matthew Beer, junior Kenji Bierig, sophomore Dylan Hopper, freshman Collins Kibet, sophomore Jonas Legernes, junior Sam Macaluso and junior Thomas Valente will don the red and navy for the Wildcats.

On the women’s side, the Wildcats will run sophomore Kayla Beattie, junior Stephanie Bulder, sophomoreMolly Callahan, junior Nicci Corbin, junior Hanna Peterson, senior Elvin Kibet, freshman Maria Larssonand senior Erin Menefee. Kibet earned a third-place finish individually at the 2012 Pac-12 Championships and earned first-team All-Pac-12 accolades.

For continued coverage of Arizona Wildcat men’s and women’s cross country, visit ArizonaWildcats.com and follow @ArizonaTrack on Twitter.

One of SportingAlert.com main contributors and associated staff member. Focus on presenting the best possible news, views and reviews from college and pro sporting events all across the globe.

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.