EURO TEAM NEWS: Lewandowski starts for Poland v Greece


WARSAW (Sporting Alert) — Striker Robert Lewandowski will lead Poland’s quest for three points in the opening game of the 2012 Euro football tournament against Greece at the National Stadium here in Warsaw.

The Borussia Dortmund forward, who according to reports could be heading to Manchester United after the tournament, believes a victory in the opening game will setup the co-hosts in a good position to push for progression from the group stages.

Lewandowski also added that despite the odds being against Poland, he hopes they can spring some surprises at the tournament.

“There are surprises at every European Championship,” he said.

“I hope that this time, Poland will surprise fans and leave them with something they will remember for a long time.

“We have a team that can play against anyone.”

Also included in the Poland starting team is Arsenal goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny, while Ludovic Obraniak and Jakub Blaszczykowski also starts in the Group A encounter.

Meanwhile, striker Georgios Samaras is amongst the starters for Greece, which also included defenders Sokratis Papastathopoulos, Vasilios Torosidis and Avraam Papadopoulos, as well as attacker Sotirios Ninis in its starting team.


The 2012 Euro tournament begins on Friday, June 8 – and will be televised live on ESPN and its networks, including live streaming on and WatchESPN.

Poland vs Greece

Poland: Szczesny, Piszczek, Wasilewski, Perquis, Boenisch, Murawski, Polanski, Blaszczykowski, Obraniak, Rybus, Lewandowski

Subs: Sandomierski, Wojtkowiak, Kaminski, Dudka, Matuszczyk, Wawrzyniak, Sobiech, Mierzejewski, Wolski, Grosicki, Brozek, Tyton

Greece: Chalkias, Torosidis, Papastathopoulos, Avraam Papadopoulos, Holebas, Maniatis, Katsouranis, Karagounis, Ninis, Gekas, Samaras

Subs: Tzorvas, Tzavelas, Malezas, Kyriakos Papadopoulos, Makos, Liberopoulos, Mitroglou, Salpingidis, Fotakis, Fortounis, Fetfatzidis, Sifakis

Referee: Carlos Velasco Carballo (Spain)