NEW YORK (Sporting Alert) — Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein, Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o and Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel are the three finalists for the 2012 Heisman Trophy, it was were announced Monday.

The three players, who will be battling for college football’s top individual award, were invited to attend the presentation ceremony in New York, where the winner will be announced Saturday night during a ceremony in New York City.

“I’m overwhelmed by this tremendous honor of representing Texas A&M, the 12th Man and all my teammates in New York,” said Manziel, who is the hot favorite to win the award on Saturday night.

“This is a dream come true for me, and I know it’s a credit to all my coaches and teammates. I definitely wouldn’t be a Heisman finalist without my teammates and coaches.”

All three players will take part in the post season, with Te’o and the undefeated Notre Dame (12-0) going for the BCS National Championship title.

The Fighting Irish will play against the winner from last year, Alabama.


Dwayne is a former high school and college athlete who now enjoys life off the court and off the track. He is a former contributor for the News World weekly magazine and online website.

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.