Jamaica named Carifta Games 2013 team

KINGSTON (Sporting Alert) — Caribbean track and field powerhouse Jamaica has named a strong 70-member squad for the 2013 Carifta Games to be held in the Bahamas from March 30 to April 1.

Several members of the squad were among the highlights at the recently concluded Boys and Girls High School Champs in Kingston last weekend and are expected to transfer over those forms when they put on the national colors.

Among the stars on the boys side is sprinter Jazel Murphy, who has been tipped as one of the nation’s brightest young prospects and he will start favorite to win the boys under-20 100m dash.

Odail Todd, Michael O’Hara, Jovan Francis and Raheem Chambers – all starred at Champs are also in the squad.

Shericka Jackson and Chris-Ann Gordon head the list of athletes on the girls side.

Under-17: Natalliah Whyte, Shellece Clarke, Tiffany James, Shannon Kalawan, Asshanni Robb, Derica Pitters, Rushelle Burton, Janeek Brown, Patrice Moody, Safiyah Thompson, Shiann Salmon, Britny Kerr, Janell Fullerton, Shanice Love, Jessica Nobel, Britnie Dixon

Under-20: Monique Spencer, Yanique Thompson, Shericka Jackson, Kedisha Dallas, Yanique Mcneil, Chris‐Ann Gordon, Simoya Campbell, Titania Markland, Lisa Buchanan, Shanieke Watson, Megan Simmonds, Kimone Green, Tatiana Wolfe, Claudette Allen, Tamara Moncriefe, Shardia Lawrence, Rochelle Frazer and Gleneve Grange.

Under-17: Raheem Chambers, Jelani Walker, Manley Martin, Jaheel Hyde, Canigga Harriott, Rayon Butler, Shevon Parks, Jauavney James, Roje Jackson‐Chin, Orlando Smith, Obrien Waysome, Ajani James, Jordan Scott, Warren Barrett , Vashon Mccarthy and Sanjae Lawrence

Under-20: Jazel Murphy, Odail Todd, Michael O’Hara, Jovan Francis, Lennox Williams, Herbert Thomas, Chadoye Dawson, Laran Haye, Tyler Mason, Omar Mcleod, Okeen Williams, Demar Robinson, Christoffe Bryan, Xavier Boland, Clive Pullen, Julaine Walker, Fredrick Dacres, Chadrick Dacosta, Adrian Riley and Jevaughn Minzie

Alston Messam (Chef de Mission), Jeffery Gordon (Manager), Loraine Morgan (Assistant Manager), Kevin Jones (Doctor), Matthew Parchment (Physiotherapist), Marland Thomas (Masseur), David Riley (Head Coach), Dwight Jones, John Mair, Shaneikie Osbourne, Keilando Goburn, Corey Bennett, Fernando Douglas and Reynaldo Walcott.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.