NAIA Men’s Soccer National Championship Report

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – (Bracket) Three of the top-four seeds advanced today in the NAIA Men’s Soccer National Championship, presented by Carrabba’s Italian Grill.

The event is played at the Emory Folmar Soccer Complex and co-hosted by the Central Alabama Sports Commission and the Southern States Athletic Conference. Second Round action continues tomorrow with play beginning at 11 a.m. CST.

Box Score – Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.) def. No. 4 Rio Grande (Ohio), 2-1 (2 OT)
Box Score – No. 3 Concordia (Calif.) def. No. 14 Ashford (Iowa), 4-0
Box Score – No. 1 Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) def. No. 16 Concordia (Ore.), 2-1
Box Score – No. 2 Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) def. Jamestown (N.D.), 3-2

In the first match of the national championship, unseeded Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.)  (picture far right – courtesy of Marvin Gentry) eliminated No. 4 Rio Grande (Ohio), 2-1, in double overtime. After Rio Grande, a team with 12-straight championship appearances, went up 1-0 on a Caio Cruz goal in the 71st minute, the Trojans responded.

Joao Junqueira hit the equalizer about 13 minutes later. Then, Rio Grande’s Mike Burney narrowly had the game-winner in the first extra session, but his shot hit the crossbar. Just 1:08 into the second overtime, Victor Alvarez headed in a pass from Jose Vidal to send the Trojans to their first-ever Quarterfinal trip on Wednesday.

In the day’s biggest blowout, No. 3 Concordia (Calif.) took down No. 14 Ashford (Iowa), 4-0. The win in shutout fashion was the Eagles sixth-straight on the year dating back to Oct. 24. Four different Eagles scored and Christian Ramirez notched two assists. William Prado kicked home the game-winner in the 13th minute. Ashford was playing in its first-ever National Championship Second Round.

Defending national champion and top seed Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) needed a come-from-behind effort to take a 2-1 victory over No. 16 Concordia (Ore.). Michael Chamberlain gave the Cavaliers a 1-0 edge in the 11th minute.

Last year’s Most Valuable Player of the Tournament, Lebogang Moloto, started the Blue Raider comeback with his marker right before the half. Then, in the 52nd minute, Eddy Campbell pushed the lead to 2-1. That margin stood up for Lindsey Wilson as goalkeeper Yuta Nomura and the defense held strong.

Jamestown (N.D.), in its first-ever championship, gave No. 2-seed Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) a scare in the day’s final match. The Warhawks, a team that is a mere half-mile from the Emory Soccer Complex, gave the hometown fans a 3-2 victory. Jade Johnson was the offensive highlight for the Jimmies scoring both of Jamestown’s goals. His second came in the 41st minute and tied the score up at 2-2. However, Agust Arnarson’s game-winner in the 53rd minute handed the Warhawks their sixth-straight victory on the year.

NeuLion, the NAIA’s official video-streaming company of 12 select NAIA national championship events, will be broadcasting all matches of the 2012 Men’s Soccer National Championship final site in Montgomery, Ala. Single day packages can be purchased for $9.95, while an all-tournament pass is available for $29.95. For more information and to pre-register, click here.

For more information, click here.

Day One Championship Notes:
• Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.) will make its first-ever Quarterfinal appearance after the 2-1 double OT win against No. 4 Rio Grande (Ohio). The Trojans picked up their first championship win all-time on Nov. 17 in the National Championship Opening Round.
• The Trojans keep alive a streak of unseeded teams winning in the Second Round. Since the format began with Opening Rounds in 2008, there has been at least one unseeded squad to pull off the upset.
• The double-overtime match to start the day was the fourth in this year’s National Championship – there were three such matches in the Opening Round.
• The No. 4 seed Rio Grande loses in the Second Round for the second-straight year. In 2011, No. 4 Mobile (Ala.) dropped a 3-0 match against William Carey (Miss.).
• Rio Grande loses in the Second Round for the second time in the last three years.
• After the 4-0 win over Ashford (Iowa), Concordia (Calif.) tied a school record with its 19th season win – the record ties the 2007 team that took a runner-up finish in the National Championship.
• Concordia (Calif.), the No. 3 seed, became the fourth-consecutive such seed to win its Second Round game.
• Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) is now on a seven-match winning streak in the National Championship with the last loss coming in the 2010 Opening Round. Overall, the Blue Raiders are 12-1 in their last 13 matches played in the postseason.
• Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) is one of four programs from the Southern States Athletic Conference, the most of any league in the National Championship final site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.