NAIA Volleyball National Championship final site pool play announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – (Pool Play Schedule) The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has released the pool assignments and schedule for the 2013 Volleyball National Championship final site presented by J&L Enterprises and CNOS Foundation.

The 12 champions from yesterday’s National Championship Opening Round join the 11 teams with byes and host school Briar Cliff (Iowa) to form the 24-team field. The National Championship final site will be contested for the sixth-straight year at the Tyson Events Center in Sioux City, Iowa, from Dec. 3 – 7.

There are six pools with four teams in each pool and they all start action on Dec. 3. The top two teams from each pool will advance to the single-elimination bracket starting Dec. 6. The championship match will take place on Dec. 7 at 7 p.m. CST. NeuLion, the NAIA’s official video-streaming, will be broadcasting all 47 matches of the Volleyball National Championship in Sioux City.

For the first time ever, all pool play matches from Dec. 3 – 5, in addition to bracket play through the championship final Dec. 7 will be streamed live. Single day packages can be purchased for $9.95, while an all-tournament pass is available for $24.95. For more information and to pre-register, click here.

Defending national champion Concordia (Calif.), along with Biola (Calif.), Briar Cliff, Columbia (Mo.), Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), Madonna (Mich.), MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.), Midland (Neb.), Northwestern (Iowa), Oklahoma Baptist, Texas at Brownsville and Vanguard (Calif.) all earned Opening Round byes.

Opening Round champions from Saturday include: Dordt (Iowa), Embry-Riddle (Fla.), Georgetown (Ky.), Grand View (Iowa), Indiana Wesleyan, The Master’s (Calif.), Park (Mo.), Rocky Mountain (Mont.), Spring Hill (Ala.), Trinity Christian (Ill.), Vanguard (Calif.) and Westmont (Calif.).

Midland, Park and Wayland Baptist are appearing in their first-ever National Championship.¬

The Golden State Athletic Conference, with Biola, Concordia, The Master’s (Calif.), Vanguard and Westmont (Calif.), sends the most conference schools with five.

Top-ranked Texas at Brownsville heads to Sioux City as one of two undefeated teams at 31-0. The Ocelots are advancing to their sixth national championship with a 21-6 all-time playoff record. Madonna (Mich.) is the other team with an unblemished record at 38-0 and holds the most wins in the current 24-team field.

Defending national champion Concordia is back in the postseason with a 35-9 championship record. The Eagles are trying to become the sixth different team to win back-to-back titles.

For more national championship information, click here.

Leave a Comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.