NBA All-Star Starters Are Named

NEW YORK — Kobe Bryant has been voted to an All-Star start for an NBA-record 15th consecutive time, according to the release on Thursday.

The Los Angeles Lakers star guard finished with 1,591,437 votes, 7,800 votes more than LeBron James (1,583,646) to finish as the player with the most votes and break a tie with Shaquille O’Neal, Jerry West and Karl Malone for the most consecutive starts.

Bryant led four Los Angeles players heading into the All-Star game next month, as the Los Angeles Clippers stars Chris Paul and Blake Griffin were also named to the Western Conference starting lineup as well.

Lakers center Dwight Howard is the fourth Los Angeles player on the list.

Oklahoma City Thunder forward Kevin Durant, who was the All-Star MVP last year’s game, is the other player selected in the Western Conference starting team.

Meanwhile, Boston Celtics’ Kevin Garnett, who held off the Miami Heat’s Chris Bosh in the fan balloting, has been selected for his 15th All-Star game as well.

He is amongst the Eastern Conference starters.

Two Miami Heat players, LeBron James and Dwyane Wade will also start.

Leading point guard Rajon Rondo of the Boston Celtics are joined by the New York Knicks forward Carmelo Anthony in rounding out the Eastern Conference starting team.

NBA 2013 Final balloting


LeBron James (Mia) 1,583,646
Carmelo Anthony (NYK) 1,460,950
Kevin Garnett (Bos) 553,222
Chris Bosh (Mia) 528,014
Tyson Chandler (NYK) 467,968
Paul Pierce (Bos) 294,213
Joakim Noah (Chi) 230,796
Josh Smith (Atl) 187,174
Shane Battier (Mia) 151,877
Anderson Varejao (Cle) 149,246
Amar’e Stoudemire (NYK) 147,720
Luol Deng (Chi) 130,744
Andrew Bynum (Phi) 111,902
Brook Lopez (BKN) 108,978
Jeff Green (Bos) 91,356

Dwyane Wade (Mia) 1,052,310
Rajon Rondo (Bos) 924,180
Deron Williams (BKN) 449,791
Kyrie Irving (Cle) 445,730
Ray Allen (Mia) 326,186
Monta Ellis (Mil) 123,096
Raymond Felton (NYK) 105,340
Jrue Holiday (Phi) 103,146
Jason Terry (Bos) 88,708
Paul George (Ind) 80,060


Kevin Durant (OKC) 1,504,047
Dwight Howard (LAL) 922,070
Blake Griffin (LAC) 863,832
Tim Duncan (SA) 492,373
Pau Gasol (LAL) 310,845
Kevin Love (Min) 283,458
Omer Asik (Hou) 240,467
Serge Ibaka (OKC) 197,063
Rudy Gay (Mem) 182,523
David Lee (GS) 165,875
LaMarcus Aldridge (Por) 160,197
Marc Gasol (Mem) 153,459
Zach Randolph (Mem) 146,980
Dirk Nowitzki (Dal) 145,776
Chandler Parsons (Hou) 144,697

Kobe Bryant (LAL) 1,591,437
Chris Paul (LAC) 929,155
Jeremy Lin (Hou) 883,809
James Harden (Hou) 485,986
Russell Westbrook (OKC) 376,411
Steve Nash (LAL) 270,741
Tony Parker (SA) 176,168
Stephen Curry (GS) 169,083
Ricky Rubio (Min) 150,227
Manu Ginobili (SA) 118,293

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.