HOUSTON, Texas, Sporting Alert – The NCAA has announced that Kansas (South), North Carolina (East), Virginia (Midwest) and Oregon (West) are No. 1 seeds heading into this year’s national tournament. The locations are also listed.

Big 12 regular season and conference tournament champions Jayhawks, will head to Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, Iowa as the top-ranked team in the South Region and will open their quest for the national title against 16th-seeded Austin Peay on Thursday.

No. 1 seed Oregon will get its tournament off against 16th-seeded Holy Cross/Southern, while Midwest top seed Virginia will take on (16) Hampton.

ACC regular season and tournament champion North Carolina will be the top seed in the No. 1 seed in the East Region and will open the quest for another NCAA national title against the of the matchup between (16) Florida Gulf Coast and Fairleigh Dickinson.

The First Four playing in Dayton, Ohio on Tuesday and Wednesday will be (11) Vanderbilt v (11) Wichita State, (16) Holy Cross v (16) Southern, with the winner of this clash taking on the sixth-seeded Arizona at the Dunkin’ Donuts Center in Providence, Rhode Island.

The other First Four games will see (11) Michigan vs. (11) Tulsa and (16) Florida Gulf Coast vs. (16) Fairleigh Dickinson.

Elsewhere, fourth-seeded Duke, the defending NCAA national champions, features in the West Region and will take on 13th-seeded UNC Wilmington on Thursday in its tournament opener.

Full Bracket Here on NCAA.com

First Four

March 15, 16
UD Arena (Dayton, Ohio)
(11) Vanderbilt vs. (11) Wichita State
(16) Holy Cross vs. (16) Southern
(11) Michigan vs. (11) Tulsa
(16) Florida Gulf Coast vs. (16) Fairleigh Dickinson

First/second rounds

March 17, 19
Dunkin’ Donuts Center (Providence, Rhode Island)
(6) Arizona vs. (11) Vanderbilt/Wichita State
(3) Miami vs. (14) Buffalo
(5) Baylor vs. (12) Yale
(4) Duke vs. (13) UNC Wilmington

Wells Fargo Arena (Des Moines, Iowa)
(1) Kansas vs. (16) Austin Peay
(8) Colorado vs. (9) UConn
(5) Indiana vs. (12) Chattanooga
(4) Kentucky vs. (13) Stony Brook

PNC Arena (Raleigh, North Carolina)
(1) North Carolina vs. (16) Florida Gulf Coast/Fairleigh Dickinson
(8) USC vs. (9) Providence
(1) Virginia vs. (16) Hampton
(8) Texas Tech vs. (9) Butler

Pepsi Center (Denver)
(5) Purdue vs. (12) Arkansas Little Rock
(4) Iowa State vs. (13) Iona
(6) Seton Hall vs. (11) Gonzaga
(3) Utah vs. (14) Fresno State

March 18, 20
Barclays Center (Brooklyn, New York)
(7) Iowa vs. (10) Temple
(2) Villanova vs. (15) UNC Asheville
(6) Notre Dame vs. (11) Michigan/Tulsa
(3) West Virginia vs. (14) Stephen F. Austin

Scottrade Center (St. Louis)
(7) Wisconsin vs. (10) Pittsburgh
(2) Xavier vs. (15) Weber State
(7) Dayon vs. (10) Syracuse
(2) Michigan State vs. (15) Middle Tennessee

Chesapeake Energy Arena (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma)
(6) Texas vs. (11) Northern Iowa
(3) Texas A&M vs. (14) Green Bay
(7) Oregon State vs. (10) VCU
(2) Oklahoma vs. (15) Cal State Bakersfield

Spokane Arena (Spokane, Washington)
(5) Maryland vs. (12) South Dakota State
(4) California vs. (13) Hawaii
(1) Oregon vs. (16) Holy Cross/Southern
(8) Saint Joseph’s vs. (9) Cincinnati

West Regional

March 24, 26
Honda Center (Anaheim, California)

South Regional

March 24, 26
KFC Yum! Center (Louisville, Kentucky)

Midwest Regional

March 25, 27
United Center (Chicago)

East Regional

March 25, 27
Wells Fargo Center (Philadelphia)

Final Four

April 2, 4
NRG Stadium (Houston)


One of SportingAlert.com contributors and associated staff members. Disney is a free-spirited writer who enjoys sports and the San Antonio Spurs. Follow me on: Follow on Facebook and Twitter

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.