Portugal Beats Poland 5-3 In Penalty Shootout

MARSEILLE, Sporting Alert – The starting lineup and live updates from the Euro 2016 quarterfinal clash between Portugal and Poland at Stade Velodrome in Marseille.


Portugal qualifies for the semifinals of Euro 2016 after beating Poland 5-3 in a penalty shootout. Cristiano Ronaldo to the first penalty kick and Ricardo Quaresma scored the winning penalty. Portugal faces the winner of the Belgium against Wales quarterfinal.



GOAL! POLAND 1-1 PORTUGAL (Sanches, 33)

What a way to make your first at the tournament! Renato Sanches scores for Portugal in the 33rd minute. Poland and Portugal are tied at 1-1.

Embed from Getty Images

GOAL! POLAND 1-0 PORTUGAL (Lewandowski, 2)

Robert Lewandowski scores for Poland in the 2nd minute, the second fastest ever at the Euro Championship. Poland leads Portugal 1-0.

Embed from Getty Images

Embed from Getty Images


Portugal has handed 18-year-old midfielder Renato Sanches a first start at the European Championship after he made three appearances in France as a substitute.

Sanches comes into the starting lineup for the injured Andre Gomes, and the teenager will play alongside William Carvalho and Renato Sanches in the central area.

Also coming into the starting team for this clash is Eliseu, who is in for injured left-back Raphael Guerreiro, while veteran centre-back Ricardo Carvalho remains on the bench, with Jose Fonte keeping his place to partner Pepe.

Nani, Cristiano Ronaldo and Adrien Silva lead the attack, with Ricardo Quaresma, Joao Moutinho and Eder among the subs.

Meanwhile, Poland boss Adam Nawalka has named an unchanged team from the side that held on for a penalty shootout win over Switzerland in the round-of-16 at the weekend.

Bayern Munich centre-forward Robert Lewandowski, perhaps the best No. 9 in the game at the moment, leads the attack for the Poles and he will be partnered by Arkadiusz Milik.

Lukasz Fabianski continues to be the starting goalkeeper for Poland, after coming in for Wojciech Szczesny, who picked up an injury in the first group match.

Poland: Lukasz Fabianski, Lukasz Piszczek, Kamil Glik, Michal Pazdan, Artur Jedrzejczyk, Jakub Blaszczykowski, Grzegorz Krychowiak, Krzysztof Maczynski, Kamil Grosicki, Arkadiusz Milik, Robert Lewandowski.

Portugal: Rui Patricio, Cedric, Pepe, Jose Fonte, Eliseu, Joao Mario, Renato Sanches, William Carvalho, Adrien Silva, Nani, Cristiano Ronaldo.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.