Granit Xhaka at Euro 2016

Romania 1 v Switzerland 1 Goal Updates

PARIS, Sporting Alert – Switzerland and Romania face off in a Euro 2016 Group A fixture at Parc des Princes in Paris, hoping to stay in the mix for a knockout place.

The Swiss team heads into this contest on the back of a 1-0 victory over Albania in its opening group game last week and knows that another three points in the capital would cement a place into the next round with one game remain.

Romania, on the other hand, is seeking to bounce back from the last moment 2-1 defeat to France in its Euro 2016 game on opening night and several pundits believe coach Anghel Iordanescu’s side has enough quality to steal all three points against Switzerland and get back on track.


In team news, Switzerland coach Vladimir Petkovic has decided to field an unchanged team from the last time out with Albania for the battle with Romania, which isn’t at all a surprise.

This means that the likes of English Premier League representatives Granit Xhaka, who will join Arsenal this coming season and Stoke City’s Xherdan Shaqiri will both start again, with Blerim Dzemaili, Admir Mehmedi and Haris Seferovic keeping their places as well.

Seferovic’s place in the side has been coming under serious threat, with several supporters calling for Basel teenager Breel Embolo to be given the starting role.

Meanwhile, Iordanescu makes four changes to his Romania starting team from the one that went 2-1 down to France in the first game at Euro 2016.

Florin Andone, Adrian Popa, Nicolae Stanciu and Ovidiu Hoban all make way for midfielders Alexandru Chipciu, Andrei Prepelita and Gabriel Torje and striker Claudiu Keseru, who must produce today.

A defeat would almost guarantee elimination for Romania.

Live streaming is on ESPN3 and WatchESPN, while television coverage in on ESPN at 12 p.m. ET

Starting Teams

Romania: Ciprian Tatarusanu, Cristian Sapunaru, Vlad Chiriches, Dragos Grigore, Razvan Rat, Andrei Prepelita, Mihai Pintilii, Gabriel Torje, Bogdan Stancu, Alexandru Chipciu, Claudiu Keseru.

Switzerland: Yann Sommer, Stephan Lichtsteiner, Fabian Schaer, Johan Djourou, Ricardo Rodriguez, Valon Behrami, Granit Xhaka, Blerim Dzemaili, Xherdan Shaqiri, Admir Mehmedi, Haris Seferovic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.