SEC axing divisions, sticking with 8-game conference slate for 2024


With Texas and Oklahoma set to join the league in 2024, the Southeastern Conference announced Thursday that it will nix its divisions while sticking with an eight-game conference schedule.

SEC commissioner Greg Sankey said the league has approved a temporary eight-game schedule for 2024, but there could be scheduling changes come 2025, which would be Texas and Oklahoma’s second season in the conference.

The current eight-game schedule allows teams to play one game against all six opponents within their division plus two interdivisional games. A proposal for a nine-game slate included three permanent opponents to maintain rivalries, while the other six games on the schedule would be against rotating opponents.

An eight-game schedule that features one permanent opponent with seven rotating has been discussed at this week’s spring meeting. While that proposal would keep major rivalries safe, such as Alabama-Auburn, it does put other historic rivalries at risk.

The SEC will reveal its complete schedule for 2024 on June 14.

When it came to the financial aspect of a ninth conference game, Sankey made it clear that money was not his main concern.

“Money follows. It doesn’t lead,” he said.

Georgia, Tennessee, South Carolina, Kentucky, Florida, Missouri and Vanderbilt currently make up the SEC’s East Division, while the West Division consists of LSU, Alabama, Mississippi State, Ole Miss, Arkansas, Auburn and Texas A&M.

Vanderbilt will be the first SEC team to kick off its 2023 season when it hosts Hawaii on Aug. 26 in Nashville, Tenn.

–Field Level Media

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.