Mo Farah of Great Britain celebrates: Prefontaine Classic

Stars Set For Glasgow Indoor Grand Prix: Live Results

GLASGOW, UK, Sporting Alert – The following are the entry lists for the 2016 Glasgow Indoor Grand Prix – at the IAAF World Indoor Tour meeting – at Emirates Arena on Saturday (Feb 20).

How To Watch Live: The Glasgow Indoor Grand Prix will be live on BBC One from 1.00-4.30pm. (local time). 8:00 am-12:30 pm ET.

The meet will feature several superstars, including Great Britain double Olympic and five-time world champion Mo Farah, former world 100m champion Kim Collins of St. Kitts and Nevis and world 200 metre champion Dafne Schippers of the Netherlands.

Farah will take on a very strong field in the men’s 3000m that includes Augustine Choge of Kenya who has the third quickest time this season, at 7:39.23.

Dane Schippers women's sprinter
Dutch sprinter Dafne Schippers wins 200m world title

There were suggestions during the off-season that Farah would have attempted to break the world indoor 3000m record at this meeting, but the Briton revealed during the meeting press conference that he was not in that kind of shape.

Follow Glasgow Indoor Grand Prix Live Results

He said he would have loved to challenge the world record which has stood since 1998, but at the moment his main goal is to go out and secure a victory with a good time.

“To be honest, it would have been nice to have had a few races and then try and see what I can do but I want to think about how I’m going to win this race and secondly, see if I can run a decent time,” Farah said.

“I don’t think I’m ready for the world record.

“It’s stood for many years – 7:24 by Daniel Komen. Nobody has gone close to that, not even Kenenisa Bekele or Haile Gebrselassie.

“I want to try to win the race, run a decent time and end on a high, chill out and come back for the World Half Marathon Championships.”

Elaine Thompson of Jamaica competes for UTECH
Elaine Thompson of Jamaica competes for UTECH

Meanwhile, Dafne Schippers, who raced away with the gold medal in the women’s 200m at the last world championships in Beijing, last summer, will take her impressive early season form into the women’s 60m dash on Saturday.

Schippers, who will try to win the short sprint at the IAAF World Indoor Championships in Portland next month, owns three of the fastest four times over 60m this season, including the world-leading time of 7.00 seconds.

“We will see – I hope that I run faster than I did, that’s always your goal. It (the 7.00) was a very good race and it’s a top field tomorrow, so that’s very nice for me,” Schippers said.

“The 60m I normally say is not my event because it’s too short for me but this season has started very well for me. It’s important to work on my starts ahead of the World’s (Indoor Championships).”

The Dutch sprinter added: “It’s my first winter training as a sprinter which is new and I like it.

“When you do the heptathlon, there’s always a feeling that you’ve forgotten to do something. Sprinting is easier for the mind.”

Schippers is expected to be challenged by a talented list of sprinters, including Jamaica’s Elaine Thompson, the world 200m silver medalist, Poland’s Ewa Swoboda, who has posted a time of 7.07 secs already this season, American Barbara Pierre (7.09), as well as Britain’s Dina Asher-Smith (7.11) and Michelle-Lee Ahye (7.12) of Trinidad and Tobago.

Former NCAA standout Dezerea Bryant of USA will be another sprinter to watch for, as she owns a very solid start that could put pressure on the field.

In the men’s 60m dash, the evergreen Kim Collins will hunt his second victory this week when he takes on the likes of world 100m medallist Trayvon Bromell of USA, his fellow countrymen Michael Rodgers and Joseph Morris, Britain’s Adam Gemili and Jamaica’s Julian Forte.

Glasgow Indoor Grand Prix –
Saturday, February 20, 2016

Men Entry Lists


Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (GBR)
Diondre Batson (USA)
Trayvon Bromell (USA)
Kim Collins (SKN)
Ojie Edoburun (GBR)
Theo Etienne (GBR)
Julian Forte (JAM)
Adam Gemili (GBR)
Richard Kilty (GBR)
Trell Kimmons (USA)
Sean McLean (USA)
Joseph Morris (USA)
Michael Rodgers (USA)
Angel David Rodriguez (ESP)
Sean Safo-Antwi (GBR)
Gavin Smellie (CAN)


Chris Brown (BAH)
Jarryd Dunn (GBR)
Pavel Maslak (CZE)
Rusheen McDonald (JAM)
Sebastian Rodger (GBR)
Calvin Smith (USA)


Mohamed Aman (ETH)
Mark English (IRL)
Timothy Kitum (KEN)
Adam Kszczot (POL)
Guy Learmonth (GBR)
Casimir Loxsom (USA)
Michael Rimmer (GBR)
Bram Som (NED)
Erik Sowinski (USA)
Jamie Webb (GBR)


Reuben Bett (KEN)
Bethwel Birgen (KEN)
Dale Clutterbuck (GBR)
Lee Emanuel (GBR)
Thomas Farrell (GBR)
Pieter-Jan Hannes (BEL)
Jakub Holusa (CZE)
Abdelaati Iguider (MAR)
Vincent Kibet (KEN)
Ayanleh Souleiman (DJI)
Mark Wieczorek (USA)


Ben Blankenship (USA)
Andrew Butchart (GBR)
Augustine Choge (KEN)
Adam Clarke (GBR)
Jonathan Davies (GBR)
Othmane El Goumri (MAR)
Mo Farah (GBR)
Charlie Grice (GBR)
Conseslus Kipruto (KEN)
Paul K Koech (KEN)
Ismael Kombich (KEN)
Tom Lancashire (GBR)
Vincent Rono (KEN)
Dawit Wolde (ETH)

60m Hurdles

Tyrone Akins (USA)
Alex Al-Ameen (NGR)
Dimitri Bascou (FRA)
Lawrence Clarke (GBR)
Kevin Craddock (USA)
David King (GBR)
Gerard O’Donnell (IRL)
Yordan O’Farrill (CUB)
Omo Osaghae (USA)
Lorenzo Perini (ITA)
Jake Porter (GBR)
Koen Smet (NED)
Terence Somerville (USA)
Wenjun Xie (CHN)

Long Jump

Dan Bramble (GBR)
Xinglong Gao (CHN)
Daniel Gardiner (GBR)
Fabrice Lapierre (AUS)
Andreas Otterling (SWE)
Markus Rehm (GER)
Christopher Tomlinson (GBR)

Pole Vault

Shawn Barber (CAN)
Thiago Braz (BRA)
German Chiaraviglio (ARG)
Luke Cutts (GBR)
Max Eaves (GBR)
Adam Hague (GBR)
Tobias Scherbarth (GER)
Robert Sobera (POL)

Triple Jump

Chris Carter (USA)
Omar Craddock (USA)
Nathan Douglas (GBR)
Jonathan Drack (MRI)
Fabian Florant (NED)
Karol Hoffmann (POL)

Women Entry Lists


Michelle-Lee Ahye (TTO)
Dina Asher-Smith (GBR)
Dezerea Bryant (USA)
Desiree Henry (GBR)
Carina Horn (RSA)
Mujinga Kambundji (SUI)
Tiffany McReynolds (USA)
Sharika Nelvis (USA)
Ezinne Okparaebo (NOR)
Barbara Pierre (USA)
Cindy Roleder (GER)
Rosangela Santos (BRA)
Dafne Schippers (NED)
Ewa Swoboda (POL)
Jeneba Tarmoh (USA)
Elaine Thompson (JAM)


Seren Bundy-Davies (GBR)
Jasmine Chaney (USA)
Zoey Clark (GBR)
Stephenie Ann Mcpherson (JAM)
Bianca Razor (ROU)
Denisa Rosolova (CZE)


Melissa Bishop (CAN)
Selina Buchel (SUI)
Zuzana Hejnova (CZE)
Christina Hering (GER)
Joanna Jozwik (POL)
Megan Krumpoch (USA)
Jenny Meadows (GBR)
Laura Muir (GBR)
Adelle Tracey (GBR)


Rababe Arafi (MAR)
Katarzyna Broniatowska (POL)
Mary Cain (USA)
Nancy Chepkwemoi (KEN)
Axumawit Embaye (ETH)
Hannah England (GBR)
Sifan Hassan (NED)
Sarah Inglis (GBR)
Cory McGee (USA)
Gudaf Tsegay (ETH)
Lydia Wafula (KEN)


Mimi Belete (BRN)
Sofia Ennaoui (POL)
Stephanie Garcia (USA)
Siham Hilali (MAR)
Elinor Kirk (GBR)
Maureen Koster (NED)
Gesa Felicitas Krause (GER)
Josephine Moultrie (GBR)
Madeleine Murray (GBR)
Renata Plis (POL)
Stephanie Twell (GBR)

Long Jump

Abigail Irozuru (GBR)
Maria del Mar Jover (ESP)
Chantel Malone (IVB)
Shara Proctor (GBR)
Jazmin Sawyers (GBR)
Xenia Stolz (GER)
Lorraine Ugen (GBR)

High Jump

Doreen Amata (NGR)
Priscilla Frederick (ANT)
Marie-Laurence Jungfleisch (GER)
Isobel Pooley (GBR)
Desiree Rossit (ITA)
Jeannelle Scheper (STL)
Lavern Spencer (STL)
Alessia Trost (ITA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.