NEW YORK (Sporting Alert) – The United States Basketball officials on Saturday evening, announced the 12-man roster that will represent the country at the Olympic Games in London.

Amongst the players on the list were Oklahoma City Thunder trio James Harden, Kevin Durant and Russell Westbrook.

Also making the squad after the final cut were LeBron James, who recently won his first NBA title with the Miami Heat, veteran Kobe Bryant, as well as Chris Paul, Deron Williams, Carmelo Anthony, Tyson Chandler, Blake Griffin, Andre Iguodala and Kevin Love.

Meanwhile, reports from the camp is claiming that LA Clippers star guard Paul has a sprained right thumb and has been doing limited sessions with the team.

He picked up the injury during Friday’s practice.

USA will already be without several superstars such as Derrick Rose, Dwyane Wade, Chris Bosh and Dwight Howard, who were all forced out because of injuries during the NBA season.

The Americans, currently in training camp, will play an exhibition against the Dominican Republic on July 12 in Las Vegas and have warmups line-up for Washington, D.C., England, and Spain prior to their arrival in London for the Games

The team, which will be coached by Duke head coach and championships regular Mike Krzyzewski, opens the Olympics against France on July 29.


Dwayne is a former high school and college athlete who now enjoys life off the court and off the track. He is a former contributor for the News World weekly magazine and online website.

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.