Tiger Woods faces possible Masters disqualified

AUGUSTA (Sporting Alert) — Officials at the 2013 Masters Golf Tournament have confirmed that they are reviewing a play by Tiger Woods that could see the four-time champion disqualified from the tournament.

On Saturday Masters officials said they were looking back to see if Woods took an illegal drop on the 15th hole in the second round on Friday and if he was found guilty could face possible disqualification from the competition, based on the rule books.

After getting a bad break when his shot to the 15th green hit the flagstick and landed into the water, Woods dropped a new ball and proceeded.

“I went down to the drop area,” he said, committing on the drop. “That wasn’t going to be a good spot, because obviously it’s into the grain, it’s really grainy there. And it was a little bit wet.

“So it was muddy and not a good spot to drop. So I went back to where I played it from, but I went two yards further back and I took, tried to take two yards off the shot of what I felt I hit.

“And that should land me short of the flag and not have it either hit the flag or skip over the back.”

Now, the Masters rules committee. are reviewing that play to see it was an improper proper.

If so, Woods’ pursuit of a fifth green jacket would have ended prematurely.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.