USA v Germany: Watch Live on ESPN2 and ESPN3; Starting Teams

WASHINGTON, D.C (Sporting Alert) — Miroslav Klose, hunts the national all-time scoring record, starts today for Germany in their friendly international football clash with the United States at RFK Memorial Stadium.

Watch USA v Germany Live on ESPN2, WatchESPN/ and UniMas
Game Time: 2:00 PM ET.

Klose, who missed the 4-2 win over Ecuador in midweek, returns to the starting line-up and is hoping to get on the score sheet on Sunday, as he aims to break Gerd Müller’s all-time German national team scoring record of 68.

Still the Lazio forward will be more focus on winning a place in Joachim Low Germany squad for next summer’s World Cup in Brazil.

“Every single player who’s in the squad deserves to be here, they’ve proved that in training, and have proved that many times,” he said.

“Everyone is highly motivated and wants to get into Joachim Löw’s notebook for the future. So I think everybody will also be given a chance to shine in the game.”

Klose starts today as the main attacker with Arsenal forward Lukas Podolski, who scored twice in midweek and Andre Schürrle also included in the starting team.

Per Mertesacker and Benedikt Höwedes also start, while Marc-André ter Stegen starts in goal.

For USA, Michael Bradley has been recalled after missing the 4-2 defeat against Belgium on Wednesday night.

Clint Dempsey, Jozy Altidore, Jermaine Jones and DaMarcus Beasley all start today, but Geoff Cameron and Brad Davis are back on the bench.

USA Team
1 Tim Howard; 3 Omar Gonzalez, 5 Matt Besler, 6 Brad Evans, 7 DaMarcus Beasley; 4 Michael Bradley, 13 Jermaine Jones, 19 Graham Zusi, 23 Fabian Johnson; 8 Clint Dempsey, 17 Jozy Altidore.
Subs: 12 Brad Guzan, 2 Edgar Eduardo Castillo, 15 Michael Parkhurst, 21 Clarence Goodson, 11 Stuart Holden, 16 Sacha Kljestan, 20 Geoff Cameron, 24 Brad Davis, 18 Eddie Johnson, 25 Terrance Boyd

Germany Team
22 Marc-André ter Stegen; 4 Benedikt Höwedes, 7 Marcell Jansen, 15 Lars Bender, 17 Per Mertesacker; 3 Stefan Reinartz, 8 Julian Draxler, 9 Andre Schürrle, 10 Lukas Podolski, 16 Sven Bender, 11 Miroslav Klose
Subs: 1 René Adler, 12 Ron-Robert Zieler, 5 Heiko Westermann, 6 Dennis Aogo, 23 Philipp Wollscheid, 14 Aaron Hunt, 20 Max Kruse, 21 Roman Neustädter, 13 Nicolai Müller, 18 Sidney Sam

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.