USC Picked To Win Pac-12 In Preseason Media Poll

SAN FRANCISCO, Sporting Alert – USC has been chosen by the media to win the Pac-12 college football title and has been predicted to edge out defending champion Oregon.

This year’s preseason backing from the media sees USC selected to win the Conference for the first time since 2012.

The Trojans, who received 21 of 45 votes from media members, were also predicted to finish on top in the South Division after getting 32 of 45 first-place votes and collecting 254 points.

Meanwhile, reigning Pac-12 champion Oregon, who received 17 votes to win the Pac-12 Championship, has been selected to win the North Division after getting 262 points.

Also picking up votes to the Conference championship were Arizona State, which got three votes, UCLA (2) and Stanford (1).

Arizona State also accumulated 200 points for second in the Pac-12 South rankings, with UCLA (180) Arizona (155), Utah (105) and Colorado (46) completing that side of the division.

Predicted to finish behind Oregon in the Pac-12 South preseason rankings were Stanford (231), California (174), Washington (129), Washington State (89) and Oregon State (60).

Interestingly, the media poll has been correct 12 of the last 15 time.

It has also been accurate in picking the Conference winner in 29 of 54 previous ballots.

USC was also picked to finish 10th in the USA Today Coaches Poll, which was released on Thursday.

Oregon, on the other hand, has been selected five places above the Trojans, at fifth.

The battle fo the 2015 Pac-12 Championship title, which will see the winner of the North Division taking on the champion of the South Division – will take place on Saturday, 5 December, at 4:45/5 p.m. PT.

The conference, which is predicting a high-quality college football game, revealed that live coverage will be on ABC or ESPN.

North Division South Division
School Points School Points
1. Oregon (37) 262 1. USC (32) 254
2. Stanford (8) 231 2. Arizona State (7) 200
3. California 174 3. UCLA (6) 180
4. Washington 129 4. Arizona 155
5. Washington State 89 5. Utah 105
6. Oregon State 60 6. Colorado 46


Others receiving votes:  Oregon (17), Arizona State (3), UCLA (2), Stanford (1)