Watch NAGICO Super50: Guyana v Ireland Live Stream on ESPN3

Ramnaresh Sarwan

Ramnaresh Sarwan of Guyana at practice: WICB Media Photo/Philip Spooner

Port of Spain, Trinidad (Sporting Alert) — Guyana will take on Ireland in the second game of the West Indies Cricket Board’s (WICB) NAGICO Super50 at the Queen’s Park Oval, in Trinidad and Tobago on Friday.

NAGICO Super50: Guyana v Ireland Live Stream on – 12:50 PM EST

Both teams went through their final preparation on Thursday ahead of their game to start the tournament and will now be focusing on starting with a victory.

Guyana will start as slight favourites for the win, with the likes of Shiv Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Leon Johnson, Narsingh Deonarine, Devendra Bishoo and Veerasammy Permaul all expected to play, but they will not be taking the Irish lightly.

“We are not going to take them or any team lightly,” Guyana captain Christopher Barnwell said.

“Obviously, they are a team with international experience, but we have a group of players who are experienced such as Shiv Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Narsingh Deonarine, so we just need to go out there and do the basics right and we will be victorious.”

Ireland will be banking on the experienced of skipper William Porterfield, following the departure of Trent Johnson, who announced his retirement from the game, but there are also several other players in the side that could make life difficult for the Caribbean side.

“Yes it is a big blow to lose Trent, but it creates an opportunity for some other players to put their hands up in the changing room and say ‘we will pick up the mantle’ such as young Craig Young who was in Australia under the guidance of Craig McDermott and some other younger players who are not here on this tour,’” said Porterfield.

Former West Indies batsman Phil Simmons coaches Ireland.

GUYANA TEAM: Christopher Barnwell (captain), Shiv Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Anthony Bramble (wicketkeeper), Robin Bacchus, Trevon Griffith, Leon Johnson, Narsingh Deonarine, Royston Crandon, Assad Fudadin, Devendra Bishoo, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton, Paul Wintz.

Esuan Crandon (coach)

IRELAND TEAM: William Porterfield (captain), Alex Cusack, George Dockerell, John Mooney, Tim Murtagh, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Andrew Poynter, Max Sorensen, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young.

Phil Simmons (coach).