World Twenty20 Final: Sri Lanka vs West Indies on ESPN2 and ESPN3

COLOMBO, Sri Lanka (Sporting Alert) — The West Indies have had a dream run in the ICC World Twenty20 and on Sunday will look to complete the journey when the Caribbean side takes on hosts Sri Lanka in the final.

The game will be played at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Live Streaming on and TV Coverage on ESPN2.

UDPATE: West Indies have won the toss and captain Sammy has decided to bat first.


Sri Lanka team: DPMD Jayawardene*, TM Dilshan, KC Sangakkara†, AD Mathews, BMAJ Mendis, HDRL Thirimanne, NLTC Perera, KMDN Kulasekara, SL Malinga, A Dananjaya, BAW Mendis

West Indies team: J Charles, CH Gayle, MN Samuels, DJ Bravo, KA Pollard, AD Russell, D Ramdin†, DJG Sammy*, SP Narine, R Rampaul, S Badree

West Indies powered their way into the final with a convincing win over Australia with leading batsman Chris Gayle leading the way once again with another solid half century in the 74 run win on Friday.

There’s some concerns over Gayle’s fitness, but he’s certainly expected to play.

“Nobody is going to make Chris Gayle miss that final,” said Windies captain Darren Sammy.

“He has played through pain for us many times before and tomorrow won’t be any different.”

Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene said: “Everyone wanted us in the finals when we played our first game in Hambantota.

“I don’t think that has died down, and as a team we’ve handled that pretty well.”

Sri Lanka, which is hoping to deliver in front of their home fans, brilliantly defended 139 in knocking off Pakistan by 16 runs in their semi-finals.

Sri Lanka squad
DPMD Jayawardene*, AD Mathews, LD Chandimal†, A Dananjaya, TM Dilshan, RMS Eranga, HMRKB Herath, KMDN Kulasekara, SL Malinga, BAW Mendis, BMAJ Mendis, EMDY Munaweera, NLTC Perera, KC Sangakkara†, HDRL Thirimanne
West Indies squad
DJG Sammy*, DJ Bravo, S Badree, DM Bravo, J Charles, FH Edwards, CH Gayle, SP Narine, KA Pollard, D Ramdin†, R Rampaul, AD Russell, MN Samuels, LMP Simmons, DR Smith

Match details
Umpires Aleem Dar and SJA Taufel
TV umpire RJ Tucker
Match referee JJ Crowe
Reserve umpire IJ Gould

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.