Manchester United Releases Squad Number; What Will Zlatan Wear?

Zlatan Ibrahimovic of Manchester United
Zlatan Ibrahimovic of Manchester United

MANCHESTER, Sporting Alert – Manchester United have released the squad numbers for the 2016/17 season, and as expected, new recruit Zlatan Ibrahimovic has been gifted the No. 9 shirt.

The Swedish striker joined Manchester United earlier this summer on a one-year free transfer, after his contract with PGS expired.

Ibrahimovic, who is currently on holiday, has now joined a list of iconic United strikers to wear the famous No. 9 at Old Trafford. According the club, he becomes the seventh player to wear that number in the Premier League since squad numbers were introduced in 1993/94.

Among the others to have suit out in the centre forward digit were Brian McClair, Andy Cole, Louis Saha and Dimitar Berbatov.

Most recently Anthony Martial sported the jersey as well, but the Frenchman has moved on to take the No. 11 shirt for the coming season, while Adnan Januzaj has switched to number 15.

Ivory Coast international Eric Bailly, who joined the Red Devils from Villarreal in this transfer window, will wear No. 3, while fellow summer signing, Armenian playmaker Henrikh Mkhitaryan, who signed from Borussia Dortmund earlier this month, has been given the No. 22 jersey.

Meanwhile, despite several media reports linking Memphis Depay with a new number, the Dutch forward keeps the No. 7 shirt, while fellow winger Jesse Lingard has moved from number 35 to 14.

Marcus Rashford has changed his number from 39 to 19 and full-back Tim Fosu-Mensah has been given number 24.

There were no changes to the squad members of the senior players with Wayne Rooney, Michael Carrick David de Gea, Ashely Young, Ander Herrera, Phil Jones, Juan Mata and Chris Smalling among the first team players holding on to their previous jersey numbers.

Manchester United Numbers For 2016/17 Season

1. De Gea 3. Bailly 4. Jones 5. Rojo 7. Memphis 8. Mata 9. Ibrahimovic 10. Rooney 11. Martial 12. Smalling 14. Lingard 15. Januzaj 16: Carrick 17. Blind 18: Young 19. Rashford 20. S. Romero 21. Herrera 22: Mkhitaryan 23. Shaw 24. Fosu-Mensah 25. Valencia 27. Fellaini 28. Schneiderlin 31. Schweinsteiger 32. Johnstone 33. McNair 36. Darmian 38. Tuanzebe 43. Borthwick-Jackson 44. Pereira 48. Keane

Red Devils Official Website | List of No. 9 Shirts At Old Trafford

About Marcus-Bloxam Football Contributor 521 Articles
Loves to play sports, especially football and basketball. I wanted to be world-class but it never actually happened so I am sticking to something else. I enjoy writing and I hope you'll appreciate what I bring! Brilliant! Isn't it. Be bless.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.