Nico Rosberg win British Grand Prix: Top Ten Results

LONDON (Sporting Alert) — Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg snatched a dramatic victory on an incident-packed and tyre failures day at the British Grand Prix F1 contest at Silverstone on Sunday.

Rosberg, who qualified second fastest for the event during the practice sessions, moved up to take the lead and then held off a determined late surge from Red Bull driver Mark Webber to secure the victory, covering the 52 laps in 1:32:59.456.

The win was the second of the series for the Mercedes driver, who had also picked up a win at the Monaco Grand Prix earlier in the season.

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso, who was one of the affected drivers by the tyre failure, battled hard from ninth, finished in third place and he just held off Lewis Hamilton, who started the race in pole position, but had dropped to last after he too had tyre failure.

Completing the top five was Lotus’s Kimi Raikkonen.

Top Ten Finishers

1. Nico Rosberg, 2. Mark Webber, 3. Fernando Alonso, 4. Lewis Hamilton, 5. Kimi Raikkonen, 6. Felipe Massa, 7. Adrian Sutil, 8. Daniel Ricciardo, 9. Paul di Resta and 10. Nico Hulkenberg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.