British Open Golf Championship leaderboard; Tee-off times

Rory McIlroy leads the 2014 British Open

HOYLAKE, England (SportingAlert) — The leaderboard ahead of the second day of action at the 2014 British Open Golf Championship, at the Royal Liverpool GC in Hoylake, England.

Live on and WatchESPN

Action in the four day championship runs from Thursday July 17 to Sunday July 20, with the purse being an healthy $8,000,000.

At the end of the opening day on Thursday, Rory McIlroy from the Northern Ireland leads a very strong field, following a very impressive day’s play.

The 25-year-old, who missed the cut at Muirfield last year, heads the leaderboard after finishing the day at six-under 66.

“It was a real solid round of golf,” said McIlroy. “I hit it into the spots I needed to and took my pars on the tougher holes.”

McIlroy leads Italy’s Matteo Manassero, who shot five-under 67, by one stroke, with Australian World No. 1 Adam Scott, American Jim Furyk, Sergio Garcia of Spain and Edoardo Molinari of Italy tied for third at four-under 68.

Former World No. 1 and former Open champion Tiger Woods of USA, who recently returned from back surgery, bounced back from a poor start to fire a three-under 69 and is tied for 10th, but defending champion Phil Mickelson is struggling further back at 74.

British Open Golf Championship Leaderboard:

Rory McIlroy (Britain) 66

Matteo Manassero (Italy) 67

Francesco Molinari (Italy) 68
Jim Furyk (U.S.) 68
Sergio Garcia (Spain) 68
Brooks Koepka (U.S.) 68
Edoardo Molinari (Italy) 68
Adam Scott (Australia) 68
Shane Lowry (Ireland) 68

Robert Karlsson (Sweden) 69
Boo Weekley (U.S.) 69
Marc Leishman (Australia) 69
Koumei Oda (Japan) 69
Jimmy Walker (U.S.) 69
Rickie Fowler (U.S.) 69
Tiger Woods (U.S.) 69
Hideki Matsuyama (Japan) 69
Yoshinobu Tsukada (Japan) 69

British Open Day 2 Pairings and Tee-off Times in Eastern Zones.

Jason Day, Martin Kaymer, and Zach Johnson – 3:37 a.m.

Bubba Watson, Ernie Els, Phil Mickelson – 4:04 a.m.

Adam Scott, Justin Rose, Jason Dufner – 4:26 a.m.

Tom Watson, Darren Clarke, and Jim Furyk – 8:27 a.m.

Sergio Garcia, Rickie Fowler, and Luke Donald – 8:38 a.m.

Tiger Woods, Angel Cabrera, and Henrik Stenson – 9:05 a.m.

Jordan Spieth, Rory McIlroy, Hideki Matsuyama – 9:27 a.m.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.