England v Australia ICC Champions Trophy Live

Australia will be without captain Michael Clarke for Saturday’s ICC Champions Trophy opening group match against England.

England v Australia ICC Champions Trophy Live on ESPN3.com

Clarke had been doubtful for the game with a lower back injury and was forced to see a doctor.

“Michael is making steady progress in his recovery from the recent lower back injury but is yet to return to training,” Cricket Australia physiotherapist Alex Kountouris said.

“He will remain in London over the coming days to continue his rehabilitation and will not be available for the first match against England on Saturday.

“How he responds to the ongoing treatment will determine his availability for the match against New Zealand next Wednesday.”


England and Australia have met 117 times in ODI cricket with Australia winning 67 matches and England 46, with two ties and two no-results.

– They have met three times in ICC Champions Trophy cricket with Australia holding a 2-1 advantage. It won by six wickets at Jaipur in 2006 and by nine wickets at Centurion in 2009, after England had won by six wickets at Edgbaston in 2004.

Australia won the competition in 2006 and 2009. England was runner-up in 2004.

Sports Desk

One of SportingAlert.com main contributors and associated staff member. Focus on presenting the best possible news, views and reviews from college and pro sporting events all across the globe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.