Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Iowa standout Caitlin Clark wins Wooden Award

Iowa star Caitlin Clark made it a clean sweep Tuesday after winning the Wooden Award for the nation’s most outstanding women’s college player of 2022-23.

It completes the player of the year awards for Clark, who also won the Naismith Trophy, Associated Press Player of the Year, Wade Trophy and USBWA national player of the year.

Clark beat out South Carolina and 2022 winner Aliyah Boston, Stanford forward Cameron Brink, Indiana’s Mackenzie Holmes and Villanova forward Maddy Siegrist.

Clark led the Hawkeyes to the NCAA Tournament title game, where they lost to LSU 102-85 on Sunday. Clark scored 30 points in the championship game and 191 points for the tournament, setting a record. Clark crushed the previous mark of 177 set by Sheryl Swoopes in 1993.

Clark finished second in the country – behind Siegrist – with 27.8 points per game. She led the country with 8.6 assists per game and also averaged 7.1 rebounds.

Clark has two years of eligibility remaining.

–Field Level Media

Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.