Lionel Messi World Cup Argentina

Messi Stays On Bench: Argentina 3 v Bolivia 0 Live

Goal! Argentina 3-0 Bolivia 
Víctor Cuesta guided home from close range, following a cross played into the box by Ezequiel Lavezzi. Argentina leads 3-0. Lionel Messi is up off the bench and he’s delighted. Cheering.

Goal! Argentina 2-0 Bolivia 
Ezequiel Lavezzi scores with a right footed shot from very close range to the high centre of the goal. Argentina leads 2-0.

GOAL! Argentina 1-0 Bolivia 
Erik Lamela scored from a deflected free kick after taking the set piece ahead of Sergio Aguero. Argentina leads 1-0.

SEATTLE, Sporting Alert – Lionel Messi remains on the bench for Argentina in tonight’s Copa America Group D clash with Bolivia at CenturyLink Field in Seattle.

Watch Live on Fox Soccer 2Go | Live TV: Fox Sports 1 USA @ 10:20 p.m. ET

Messi came off the bench as a second-half substitute and score a 19-minute hat-trick in a 5-0 hammering of Panama the last time out and many had thought the captain would have been given some early minutes tonight.

However, with Argentina already through to the quarter-finals, there is no need to risk the Barcelona forward, who is still being bothered by a slight back problem.

Getting a starting run out, though, are Sergio Agüero, Erik Lamela, Matias Kranevitter, Ezequiel Lavezzi and Victor Cuesta.

Head coach Gerardo Martino makes six changes for this contest.

Marcos Rojo, who is one yellow card away from a suspension, Javier Mascherano, Augusto Fernández and Nicolás Gaitán are all on the bench tonight for Argentina, which has already sealed the top spot in the group.

Angel Di Maria is out of the match day squad completely because of a slight groin problem.

Argentina are the favourite to win Group D, as the World Cup finalist would have to lose by five goals to drop from the top spot.

Argentina: Sergio Romero, Victor Cuesta, Nicolás Otamendi, Ramiro Funes Mori, Facundo Roncaglia, Matias Kranevitter, Erik Lamela, Ever Banega, Gonzalo Higuaín, Sergio Agüero, Ezequiel Lavezzi. Subs: Mariano Andújar, Augusto Fernández, Nahuel Guzmán, Javier Mascherano, Lucas Biglia 21Javier Pastore, Gabriel Mercado, Marcos Rojo, Jonatan Maidana, 0Nicolás Gaitán, Lionel Messi.

Bolivia: Carlos Lampe, Edward Zenteno, Luis Gutierrez, Nelson Cabrera, Pedro Azogue, Alejandro Meleán, Martin Smedberg-Dalence, Jhasmani Campos, Erwin Mario Saavedra, Yasmani Duk Juan Arce. Subs: Di ego Bejarano, Ronald Eguino, Raúl Castro, Rodrigo Ramallo, Gilbert Alvarez 19Carmelo Algarañaz Añez, Cristhian Machado, Romel Quiñónez, Guillermo Viscarra 6Wálter Veizaga, Marvin Bejarano

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.