Henrikh Mkhitaryan and Eric Bailly: Manchester United

Wigan 0-2 Manchester United Live! Mkhitaryan, Bailly Start

WIGAN, Sporting Alert – Jose Mourinho has named his Manchester United starting XI to face Wigan in the opening pre-season match and both his summer signings will make their debuts.

Follow Live Blogging Updates

Andreas Pereira blasts home from inside the box to give Manchester United a 2-0 lead in the second half. Ashley Young send a low free-kick to Ander Herrera in the box and after his effort was blocked, Pereira pounced first when fire home.


Will Keane gets Manchester United off the mark in the second half, taking advantage of a very poor clearance by veteran goalkeeper Jussi Jaaskelainen, who gave away possession to Juan Mata in his own area. The Spaniard unselfishly crossed the ball to Keane to slot into an open net.


Henrikh Mkhitaryan and Eric Bailly will both start for the Red Devils as Mourinho takes charge of his first game since replacing Louis van Gaal as the manager at Old Trafford.

Bailly, who signed from Villarreal earlier this summer will play alongside Daley Blind in the heart of the defense, while Mkhitaryan, who made the switch from Borussia Dortmund, playing as an attacking support.

With David de Gea and Sergio Romero both unavailable, 23-year-old Sam Johnstone has been handed the starting place in goal.

Timothy Fosu-Mensah and Luke Shaw will start as the wing-backs, while Michael Carrick and Ander Herrera are the central midfielders.

Jesse Lingard and Memphis will also play in attacking positions, with James Wilson leading the frontline.

There is no Wayne Rooney, but the likes of Juan Mata, Ashley Young, Adnan Januzaj, Antonio Valencia and Phil Jones are all on the bench.

Wigan’s starting XI: Jaaskelainen, Taylor (trialist), Perkins, Daniels, Power, Grigg, Huws, Burn, Jacobs, Morgan (c), Warnock. Subs: Nicholls (GK), Davies, Cosgrove, Whitehead, Powell, Gregory, Burke, Barrigan, Lang, O’Brien.

Manchester United’s starting XI: Johnstone, Fosu-Mensah, Bailly, Blind, Shaw, Carrick, Herrera, Lingard, Mkhitaryan, Memphis, Wilson. Subs: J Pereira, Blackett, Jones, Tuanzebe, Varela, Januzaj, Mata, A Pereira, Valencia, Young, Keane.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.