Kemoy Campbell, No. 12 Arkansas hunt SEC Cross Country crown

FAYETTEVILLE – The three-time defending Southeastern Conference (SEC) Champion No. 12 Arkansas men’s cross country team will enter the 2013 SEC Championships looking to claim the program’s 21st SEC title. The men’s 8K is scheduled for an 8 a.m. start on Friday, Nov. 1.

Championships Website and Updates

At the beginning of the season, the Razorbacks were a unanimous selection to win the 2013 league title in a vote by the coaches. Arkansas has won 20 of the last 22 SEC cross country Championships. The Razorbacks have won seven consecutive conference titles dating back to the 2011 outdoor track and field title in Athens, Ga.

“I think at this stage of the game, it’s mostly mental.” Said head coach Chris Bucknam. “Our guys have been running since mid-June preparing for the SEC Championships and the NCAA Championships.

“We just need to have confidence in the fact that we are healthy, we are extremely fit and now we will drill down and get race fit. It’s all about believing in the system and having confidence in the training that we have gone through and I truly believe that our best race is still to come.”

Senior Kemoy Campbell is currently the SEC’s leader at the men’s 8K distance with a time of 23:12, recorded at the Wisconsin adidas Invitational. The course record at the Mark Bostick Golf Course is currently 23:34.0, set by Auburn’s Brian Jaeger in 1986.

The Razorbacks return All-SEC performers in Solomon Haile, Campbell and Cale Wallace. In 2012, head coachChris Bucknam was named the SEC Coach of the Year and Wallace earned SEC Freshman of the year honors.

So far this season, the Razorbacks have collected three team titles and four individual titles. The Razorbacks have also collected multiple awards with Stanley Kebenei being named the USTFCCCA National Runner of the Week as well as SEC Runner of the Week twice, Campbell also collected two SEC Runner of the Week honors. Freshman Aidan Swain also added to Arkansas’ honors by being named the SEC Freshman of the Week on two separate occasions.

Mark Bostick Golf Course Men’s 8K Top 10 Performers


Brian Jaeger Auburn 23:34.0 10/25/86 Florida Invitational


Mike Blaney Florida 23:46.4 10/25/86 Florida Invitational


Jimmy Clark Florida 23.53.78 9/14/13 Mountain Dew Invite


Henok Lechebo Florida 23:53.81 9/9/05 Gator Invitational


Paul Waldron adidas 23:55.6 10/25/86 Florida Invitational


Mark Parrish Florida 23:59.41 9/14/13 Mountain Dew Invite


Matt Parker Auburn 24:00.0 10/25/86 Florida Invitational


Jon Harris Florida 24:01.1 10/25/86 Florida Invitational


Jeff Pigg Florida 24:03.9 10/25/86 Florida Invitational


David Kimani Alabama 24:05.18 11/4/02 SEC Championships

Mark Bostick Golf Course Women’s 6K Top 10 Performers

  1. Shannon Womack Tenn. 19:50.16 11/12/05 NCAA South Reg.
  2. Angela Homan Auburn 20:14.83 11/12/05 NCAA South Reg.
  3. Lauren Blankenship Samford 20:16.39 11/12/05 NCAA South Reg.
  4. Susan Kuijken Florida St. 20:19.01 11/10/07 NCAA South Reg.
  5. Melanie Schultz Miami 20:32.41 11/12/05 NCAA South Reg.
  6. Barbara Parker Florida St. 20:35.69 11/10/07 NCAA South Reg.
  7. Felicia Guliford Tenn. 20:43.47 11/12/05 NCAA South Reg.
  8. Sonja Friend-Uhl Asics 20:44.93 9/30/00 Gator Invitational
  9. Kelly Perzanowski FGCU 20:45.06 9/14/13 NCAA South Reg.
10. Lauren Burks Georgia 20:45.09 11/12/05 NCAA South Reg.

Fans can follow live updates during the meet from the team’s official Twitter account @RazorbackTF and results will be available on the official website

For more information on Arkansas men’s cross country, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous post ACC Cross Country Championships – Nov. 1
Next post Final Score: Chris Paul leads Clippers past Warriors with 42pts, 15ast