Netherlands v Mexico Starting Teams and Live Scores

AMSTERDAM (Sporting Alert) — Carlos Vela, returning to the Mexico national squad, leads the attack with Javier Hernandez in today’s friendly clash with the Netherlands at Amsterdam ArenA.

Netherlands v Mexico Live Scores

Vela is making a return for El Tri for the first time in three years and the Real Sociedad star forward joins Hernandez, who is on loan at Real Madrid from Manchester United, in the attack.

The 25-year-old Vela had asked not to be considered for a recall up in the past, as he had a few personal things he needed to take care of before playing again for his country.

However, it is now understood that he is fully committed to the national setup and head Miguel Herrera is delighted to have another attacking option to select from.

The Mexico starting XI tonight also includes Andres Guardado, Hector Herrera, Oswaldo Alanis, Adrian Aldrete and Jose Juan Vazquez, but forward Giovani dos Santos is on the bench and so too is his brother Jonathan.

Holland head coach Guus Hiddink named a strong team for the friendly with Newcastle United goalkeeper Tim Krul starting ahead of Ajax regular, Jasper Cillessen, who is on the bench.

Ron Vlaar, linked with a move to Manchester United and also with an improved deal with current club Aston Villa, Daley Blind, Ibrahim Afellay, Wesley Sneijder and Arjen Robben all start too.

Klaas-Jan Huntelaar will lead the attack in the absence of Manchester United forward Robin van Persie, with Memphis Depay, Ricardo van Rhijn and Joel Veltman all starting as well for a Dutch side needing to find form ahead of a few key Euro 2016 qualifiers.

On the bench are Gregory van der Wiel, Stefan de Vrij, Jeffrey Bruma, Leroy Fer, Georginio Wijnaldum and Nigel de Jong.

Holland v Mexico

Holland Team: Krul, Van Rhijn, Vlaar, Veltman, Willems, Blind, Afellay, Sneijder, Huntelaar, Depay, Robben. Subs: Cillessen, van der Wiel, de Vrij, Bruma, Fer, Narsingh, Wijnaldum, de Jong, Promes, Vermeer

Mexico Team: Ochoa, Aguilar, Reyes, Miguel Herrera, Alanis, Aldrete, Vazquez, Hector Herrera, Guardado, Vela, Hernandez. Subs: Talavera, Dominguez, Corona, Jonathan, Jimenez, Giovani, Gonzalez, Ponce, Venegas, Corral, Rodriguez

Referee: Szymon Marciniak (Poland)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.