Elite fields for the 2014 BMW Frankfurt Marathon

Frankfurt Marathon
Meselech Melkamu in the Frankfurt Marathon in 2012, Photo: www.photorun.net

FRANKFURT — The selected men’s women’s and their personal bests in the respective elite fields for the 2014 BMW Frankfurt Marathon, which is an IAAF Gold Label Race.

Leading the pack in the men’s field is Ethopian Tsegaye Mekonnen, who comes in with a personal best time of 2:04:32.

Entered as well is the defending champion Vincent Kipruto, who posted 2:06:15, a time that was well short of his pre-race targeted time of 2:04. He promised to come back and give it a try and again and he will be one of the men to watch on Sunday.

Missing though is Ethiopia’s Getu Felek.

Felek had set his sights on battling for the BMW Frankfurt Marathon title, following his victory at this year’s Vienna Marathon.

However, he was forced to pull out of the race because of an achilles tendon injury.

A strong women’s field is also assembled and it includes double Berlin Marathon champion Aberu Kebede of Ethiopia, who comes in with a personal best of 2:20:30, as well as fellow countrywoman and the course record holder Meselech Melkamu.

Meskerem Assefa (2:25:17) of Ethiopia and Kenyans Sharon Cherop (2:22:28) and Flomena Chepchirchir (2:23:00) are also among the favourites.

“We have a couple of very strrong women in the field, so I hope we can make the next step and get a course record,” said Race Director Jo Schindler.

“Of course you are always dreaming of getting a sub 2:20 time, but for such a result everything has to be perfect.”

Tsegaye Mekonnen ETH 2:04:32
Vincent Kipruto KEN 2:05:13
Mark Kiptoo KEN 2:06:16
Gilbert Yegon KEN 2:06:18
Kirui Jacob KEN 2:07:46
Francis Bowen KEN 2:08:01
Deribe Robi ETH 2:08:02
Tebalu Zawude ETH 2:08:20
Mike Kigen KEN 2:08:24
Daniel Chepyegon UGA 2:08:24
Paulo Roberto Paula BRA 2:10:23
Dawit Wolde ETH 2:10:42
Koji Gokaya JPN 2:12:07
Edwin Kemboi AUT 2:12:58
Adugna Takele ETH Debut
Solomon Deksisa ETH Debut
Vincent Chepkok KEN Debut
Allan Kiprono KEN Debut
Daniel Wanjiru KEN Debut
Arne Gabius GER Debut
Philipp Pflieger GER Debut

Aberu Kebede ETH 2:20:30
Meselech Melkamu ETH 2:21:01
Sharon Cherop KEN 2:22:28
Flomena Chepchirchir KEN 2:23:00
Meskerem Assefa ETH 2:25:17
Helah Kiprop KEN 2:27:29
Ashete Bekere ETH 2:27:47
Winny Jepkorir KEN 2:27:57
Adriana Nelson USA 2:28:52
Emily Ngetich KEN 2:30:50
Mona Stockhecke GER 2:34:04

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.