Wayne Rooney

Manchester United v Leicester Team News, Live Commentary

OLD TRAFFORD (Sporting Alert) — Manchester United will reportedly play with a diamond in midfield for today’s English Premier League clash against Leicester City at Old Trafford.

Listen Manchester United v Leicester Live Radio Commentary

Manager Louis van Gaal has made three changes from the team that played in the last outing with Michael Carrick, who is sidelined for four weeks with a muscle injury, James Wilson and Marouane Fellaini making way.

Captain Wayne Rooney, Robin van Persie and Luke Shaw are recalled for this fixture, with Adnan Januzaj making his first Premier League start since November and forward Radamel Falcao also starting as well for Manchester United.

Angel di Maria, Antonio Valencia, Phil Jones, Marcos Rojo and Daley Blind are also starters for Manchester United, who will be looking for a turnaround after losing to the travelers on the road when they last met earlier this season.

For Leicester City, Mark Schwarzer starts in goal, with defender Marcin Wasilewski coming into the starting XI as well for Liam Moore.

Danny Simpson, Wes Morgan and Ritchie de Laet are also at the back as well, while Leonardo Ulloa and Andrej Kramaric lead the attack.

Experienced players Matthew Upson, Esteban Cambiasso and David Nugent are all on the bench, with Upson hoping to make his debut for the club.

Manchester United has assembled a very strong bench, with the likes of Juan Mata, Chris Smalling, Ander Herrera, Fellaini and Wilson available if needed during the game.

United sit fourth in the league and have only two defeats  in 17 league games since losing at Leicester, but the fans and pundits are demanding better football from a club, which has spent a huge summer of money in the summer’s transfer window.

Many are also puzzled with the way Di Maria and Falcao have struggled and blames Van Gaal for failing to get his system right to bring out the best in these world-class players.

Manchester United Team: De Gea, Valencia, Jones, Rojo, Shaw; Blind, Januzaj, Di Maria, Rooney; Van Persie, Falcao.

Leicester City Team: Schwarzer, Simpson, Wasilewski, Morgan, De Laet; Drinkwater, King, Schlupp; Vardy, Kramaric, Ulloa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.